1St Attempt At Fondant People ... Need Some Help Too Please

Decorating By mfac1 Updated 23 Aug 2010 , 1:42pm by mfac1

mfac1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mfac1 Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 11:26pm
post #1 of 8

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at making a fondant mum - please let me know your thoughts. Also if you would be able to help me it would be great - I can't seem to stop cracks in my fondant characters. am i adding too much tylose? is there anything else you can use to not have your fondant stick other than icing? and how do you smooth out cracks? thanks for looking and thanks for helping icon_smile.gif

7 replies
cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 11:43pm
post #2 of 8

Sounds like you are adding too much tylose. Also, I find that I have to roll it alot. I roll everything into a ball to work out the cracks, then make the shape I need...

peg818 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peg818 Posted 22 Aug 2010 , 11:56pm
post #3 of 8

actually she doesn't look too bad.

You might want to add alittle crisco to your gumpaste to make it alittle softer so you have time to work those cracks out.

Now the first thing i see, is the neck on this little lady, if you form the head and the neck as one piece you won't have that crease where the two meet. It is easier to hide the crease at the shoulders, can be done with a collar or a necklace.

Next thing i see is the ends of her glasses, you will want to move them down some so that they are heading towards her ears.

The last thing i see which is probably the hardest thing to deal with is the hands. If you can't model hands (i can't) hide them, or simplify them more. With a cartoon character you don't need separate fingers You can just score them on (they don't look so awkward when you don't try to separate all those fingers. Ways to hide the hands, have them holding flowers, mittens ....

mfac1 Posted 23 Aug 2010 , 3:10am
post #4 of 8