Getting Started

Business By MandyCakez Updated 23 Aug 2010 , 11:03am by minicuppie

MandyCakez Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 8:02am
post #1 of 16

I'm just getting started in the cake business.I made a few cakes and have always received compliments on how good my cakes are and that i should go into the cake business.Well,i decided to give it a shot.I'm taking a few classes and i even just started a FB page.I get alot of feedback,but NO ORDERS! icon_sad.gif How did you get customers?

Also this is my first cake i actually would think about charging someone for.It won't let me upload to the gallery...but is this something you'd buy?I know i should have done the ducks in a different color as they blend in with the rocks.How much roughly does one charge for a simple one tier cake?This was a 10 inch.
http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/jj212/MandyMystiques/Picture121.jpg

Thanks for any tips or advice you can give me. icon_smile.gif

15 replies
MandyCakez Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 3:04pm
post #2 of 16

Wow, anyone?lol

dawncr Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 3:18pm
post #3 of 16

Welcome to CC!

One likely reason you're not getting lots of posts right now:

Fridays and Saturdays are cakers' busiest days. They're prepping and icing and stacking and delivering the wedding cakes that are most often needed on Saturdays. icon_biggrin.gif

dawncr Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 3:24pm
post #4 of 16

Forgot to add:

The marketing topic is discussed quite often here on the business forum. Take some time and read, read, read the posts on this forum for as far back as you have time/patience. I'd guess you'll come up with some suggestions that apply to you.

And.... be sure to read past threads on what is required legally to sell one's cakes. I don't know anything about your state's laws & regulations, so you may already have done all this. In that case, never mind my suggestion.

Good luck to you!

minicuppie Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 3:33pm
post #5 of 16