Ganache Question

Decorating By KerrieD Updated 25 Aug 2010 , 9:27pm by Moondance

KerrieD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KerrieD Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 12:44am
post #1 of 7

Does the ganache (for either frosting or filling) have to be made with chocolate chips? I'd prefer a rich milk chocolate instead. I've never used it before - I'm a little afraid. I always think of ganache as drippy. So I make it...let it cool down to thicken...then rewhip???
Also...can you see the brown frosting under white fondant?

6 replies
CutiePieCakes-Ontario Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CutiePieCakes-Ontario Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 10:03pm
post #2 of 7

The one time I made ganache, I used chocolate wafers (the kind used for making chocolate molds). They worked fine because they are meant to melt.

BUT, you definitely have to let it set/cool. I didn't -- disaster.

I have seen many cake shows where they put chocolate ganache under white fondant, but the fondant was very thick - I would say extremely thick. You could make white ganache instead. It would be sweeter than milk chocolate, but you wouldn't risk bleed-thru colour.

cakemaker2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemaker2 Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 11:06pm
post #3 of 7

I always use ganache as a filling, and use frosting dams. You could however frost your cake with ganache, then cover with bettercream followed by fondant. Let the bettercream "set" first.

cakemaker2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakemaker2 Posted 21 Aug 2010 , 11:07pm
post #4 of 7

I always use ganache as a filling, and use frosting dams. You could however frost your cake with ganache, then cover with bettercream followed by fondant. Let the bettercream "set" first.

bakercoz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bakercoz Posted 24 Aug 2010 , 3:45am
post #5 of 7