CindyM Posted 19 Jan 2007 , 10:52pm
post #1 of

Does anyone else have trouble with cookie cutters and their measurements? I finally decided to break down and order a copper 3 tier cake cookie cutter for 9.95 after searching and searching for the old Wilton one with no luck. Well, it is much larger then the website said! And I just found out that to return it - Sugarcraft charges a 20% restocking fee, plus I already paid 8.00 shipping and have to pay shipping again! I'm too cheap! The website said it was 3 1/2" - I measured it to be 4"! How do you measure these things? The tin house cutter I also ordered was listed as 3" and it's only about 2"! I wanted to post a photo of the 2 together so you can see that they are definitely more then 1/2" difference, but not able to attach it. I just wanted to vent - I was so excited to get my package today only to be highly disappointed. I will never order from that company again - plus there is no phone number to get ahold of a live person!

32 replies
Alison01 Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:15am
post #2 of

I have never ordered from them, but thanks for sharing. I"ll keep that in mind!!

mjs4492 Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:20am
post #3 of

I'm real sorry to hear you had a bad experience with SugarCraft!! icon_sad.gif

I've ordered stuff from them and have never had a bad experience. Did you try emailing them and let them know how upset you are about your order? They usually call when they have problems with an order. I'm not defending them!! I hate you had a problem, that's all. icon_cry.gif

Lenette Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:27am
post #4 of

If you search on here you will find that you are not alone. Several of us have had a bad experience with them. I too ordered from them for years with no problems but boy when I did...that ended that relationship. BTW, a phone number will do you no good, at leaast it didn't for me.

Sorry this happened to you, truly...

RisqueBusiness Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:29am
post #5 of

I"m surprised you had such trouble with them, did you email Delores and tell her about the difference in measurements before you came and posted about them here?

That company has been around for EVER...I remember that she was the one that used to host the cake chat on AOL around 1988/89 .

This is the very FIRST time I've ever heard of ANYONE complain about this company.

There is a phone number I think it's on the home page where they advertise the store



"STORE PHONE: 513-896-7089
.NOTICE: Sales Clerks DO NOT have access to your on-line order and have little time to answer lengthy questions. Please email us instead.
STORE HOURS:
Mon. - Fri. 9:30-5:30pm EST.
Saturdays 9:30-4 pm.
Closed Sundays"

But, they also advertise that the store clerks do not have access to your internet order. I think these are two different departments now.

Janette Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:30am
post #6 of

I love that store, such variety.

And, I would be happy to have the cookie cutter larger then said, but I like large cookie cutters.

I have complained about their high shipping cost. It has stopped me from ordering there at times.

I couldn't believe how low CC's shipping cost was, they must charge true shipping cost where others charge handling too.

That suprised me the 20% restock charge. Things like that will chase customers away. When you are ordering on line you can't see it and it may not be what you were looking for so I don't get the restock charge.

I would e-mail them they seem to be good in the service department.

I know that you must be bumbed.

CindyM Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:37am
post #7 of

I did receive a quick reply by email from Sugarcraft. They said cutters are not returnable, but they are making an exception and allowing me to return it. But I still feel the sizes were off - how do you all actually measure cookie cutters? The largest part across & down, right? I'll certainly be more careful in the future.

Janette Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:49am
post #8 of

The company that really disappointed me was CCW Supply. I had ordered 4 items, 10 each and only recieved 1 each. I e-mailed twice no response, I finally called and they send they would send out the items. It bugs me when I have to waste my time, they should have responded to the e-mails.

I even told them in the e-mail I have the box they were sent in to show there is no way the items would have fit into that box but I was charged for them.

I'm just glad it wasn't something I needed now.

playingwithsugar Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:57am
post #9 of

There have been several complaints about Sugarcraft in these forums. Some people have complained about the shipping, others that they never got their shipment, or parts of their shipment, still others have complained that when they try to speak to someone in customer service, they either do not get an answer or the person at the other end of the line was absolutely rude to them.

I have never ordered from them, personally.

My suggestion is, from now on, we should all search the archives prior to ordering from any online company, to see what feedback is available.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

sirius Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 1:59am

i too have had a bad experience with them - even before i could complete my order!!!
they wanted proof of id etc sent, and as i don't have a scanner i had to get these documents scanned and emailed by a ups store (way out of my way, on the bus, in the cold, with a bad back). the email was sent and received an answer saying that the information was received and they'd get back to me with a final total.

i then sat waiting for a week, but nothing - no response. when i emailed them to find out what was happening - they said they had no idea what i was talking about....they hadn't received my information yet!!! talk about going in circles....

i was now upset because the email showed that it was sent and wasn't bounced back and it had all my private information on it. where did it go?? needless to say i told them to cancel everything and that i'd have to keep a close eye on my credit card statement in case of anything....

i now do all my business with golda's kitchen here in canada or global sugar arts. in both cases i have returned goods with no problem and have spoken to the owners on occasion.
never again with sugarcraft!!!!

Janette Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 2:09am

Proof of ID ????

Wonder what that was about. Ordering online I have never heard of such a thing.

Sounds like someone that doesn't know what they are doing.

RisqueBusiness Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 2:34am
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janette

Proof of ID ????

Wonder what that was about. Ordering online I have never heard of such a thing.

Sounds like someone that doesn't know what they are doing.




it could be proof of TAX ID to take advantage of wholesale pricing??

sirius Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 2:45am

no - it was personal id. they wanted a photocopy of my passport and credit card info.

SweetResults Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 2:51am

I wonder if they wanted that info because you are Canada and they are a US company?

sirius Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 2:55am

they said it was to confirm i was who i said i was!!! and that they couldn't process my order without this. i think it's standard ordering procedure for them - but not for the others i now deal with...

SweetResults Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 3:02am

Strange - I have ordered from them before and they never asked me for that stuff. Did you order on-line or over the phone? Bizzare!

sirius Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 3:07am

online. to the best of my recollection ( i'll go back on the site and check) it's written on their ordering page.

sirius Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 3:15am

yup, it's on their "international ordering page".


INTERNATIONAL ORDERS
or ANY other Bank that
does not participate in the Electronic Billing Verification Program

MORE EXPLANATION

**********************************************************************
Below details required when shipping to a U.S. address or U.S. broker service.
If conditions are not met, your order will be CANCELED.
1. Copy of driver's license or passport
2. Copy of the front and back of your signed credit card. NOT VALID if
unsigned.
3. A personally signed statement giving Sugarcraft, Inc. permission to
charge your credit card for purchases. Do not include dollar amount.
4. _________ Invoice number
Save information as a JPG file, PDF, or WORD file and email it to me at
proicer@sugarcraft.com

Janette Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 5:11am

That's what I thought you meant.

Has this ever happened before with another company?

sirius Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 5:21am

not any of the others i've dealt with....

playingwithsugar Posted 20 Jan 2007 , 5:59pm

Sirius, have you reported this to your law enforcement agency in Canada? Credit cards are accepted without ID world-wide. No overseas company which that I have ever dealt with (I live in the US) has ever requested identification, and I purchase my tools and supplies world-wide all the time.

Your law enforcement agency can request information on the number you faxed your information to.

I would also contact my credit card company/companies, explain the situation, and request new account numbers.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

ShirleyCakes2 Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 9:46pm

FYI I use to work for Sugarcraft. Actually I quit when I moved. I really miss them a lot. I can't understand all the bad mouthing. They certainly do not deserve it. I was paid well, had benefits and was treated well too. Wish I could find a fun job like that here!

I just happened across this area. What this woman from Canada is having problems with is that her credit card cannot be verified in the USA. I don't think I would like to deal with a company that WOULD accept a credit card without verification. Don't you all realize this is how your identity can get stolen! If they can't verify it is your card through the system, they ask for proof. You would be surprised at all the crooks who try to order - and almost daily there. They call the person who stole the ccard and tell too. Thats going the extra mile. I wish more companies did that!
ShirleyCakes

Janette Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 10:12pm

It's great that you had a nice job there.

I don't find the complaints about other companies like Sugarcraft so there must be something there.

bobwonderbuns Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 10:22pm

I'm sorry to hear of these negative experiences. I've been ordering from them for years and recently I did have a problem -- which was promptly resolved. No rudeness at all!! Granted, they aren't as nice as Alan at GlobalSugarArt, but hey, who is?? icon_rolleyes.gif I've found with Sugarcraft if you are businesslike with them and tell them how you like to see the problem resolved, that usually gives even the novice customer service rep a starting point. Good luck! icon_smile.gif

pattycakes1326 Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 10:32pm

Sorry you had so much trouble. I have been purchasing from them for at least 5 years and have never had any issues.

I recently bought a very hard to find electric guitar cookie cutter from Beryl's. I had never ordered from there before, but it was a great experience. Great service & fast shipping. Would use them again!

www.beryls.com

weirkd Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 10:33pm

Shirley maybe when you left the customer service did with you because I know a lot of people including myself that have had really bad experiences from them. I was giving them between $400 to $500 a month in sales and they would always make me wait over a week for my orders. But I didnt complain. Then I ordered gum paste and paid like $20 for it and got a 1 lb fondant of theirs and they wouldnt answer the phone or email me or anything. Over a week this went on until I finally got an email and they told me that I HAD TO PAY for it to be returned before they would send me my order! I argued that I shouldnt have to pay for THEIR mistake. Then they wanted me to wait another week before they would send out what I needed the week before! So needless to say. I dont think that is very good customer service.

ladij153 Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 10:34pm

Hi shirleycakes2,

I'm glad you had a nice job there and I don't doubt the folks you worked with were very nice. However, I've ordered from them several times and have had a problem of one sort or another each and every time.

One of my problems is with their customer service!!!!
Twice I ordered something and they apparently didn't have it in stock so it naturally wasn't in my order but there wasn't a note of explanation or courtesy e-mail to let me know that, I had to ask them. They are really bad about replying to e-mail questions about items and their tracking info is really hard to find and nnot always accurate.

The one time they let me know something was back ordered i sent them an e-mail requesting a substitution item and they said okay but when I got my order the substitution item wasn't there.

It's just things like that that keep me from doing business with them unless I have to because they are the only business that has an item I need.

Another problem I have is their website. About 50% of the links to articles or pictures or instructions are broken. I sent them an e-mail suggesting they let their webmaster know so they could get them fixed and never received a reply.

estherhead Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 10:35pm

I've ordered from them many, many times & never had a serious issue. I've even had to call beause of issues & had them quickly resolve it. I thought their customer service was excellent. Sorry for the problems!

Janette Posted 5 Jun 2007 , 10:48pm

I still would like to know why their shipping is higher than anyone else.

Janette Posted 6 Jun 2007 , 3:49pm

I'm taking my own advice and clicking stop watching this topic.

It's like talking politics.

Quote by @%username% on %date%

%body%