"baked Fresh Daily?"

Business By kelsiedelizzle Updated 7 Sep 2010 , 1:58am by costumeczar

kelsiedelizzle Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kelsiedelizzle Posted 19 Aug 2010 , 12:41am
post #1 of 34

I'm curious about whether people who own/work in bakeries make their pastries & desserts that day, or if they freeze them ahead of time.

I've frozen cakes and cupcakes ahead of time before (I'm just a hobbyist...for now) and never noticed a flavor/quality difference, but I know people can be a stickler for frozen food, ie they won't eat it (when I was working at Publix, a woman threw down a creme cake when she found out they're frozen then thawed before being sold. She was kinda nasty icon_sad.gif )

Anyway, what do y'all do? Do you have time to bake every day (apparently that's what they do on DC Cupcakes) and what do you do with the leftovers at the end of the day? Please tell me you don't throw them away! I hated doing that with the donuts at Publix.

And if you do freeze then thaw, do customers complain?

I'm talking about cupcakes, muffins, donuts, cakes, you name it! More of a bakery question than a cake studio question, I suppose.

TIA!

33 replies
littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 19 Aug 2010 , 2:35am
post #2 of 34

the freezer is your friend....i freeze everything...but i usually use it that week, i don't freeze real far in advance, that way one whole day can be dedicated to ther baking for the week.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 19 Aug 2010 , 2:48am
post #3 of 34

Sure! Any bakery can say they "bake fresh daily!" The fact that they sell the Monday baked goods on Friday is just a little technicality, but they BAKE everything FRESH on a daily basis.

They just never tell you when they put them in the for-sale case! icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

I love watching for word games in advertisements!!