Lots Of Questions, But I'm A Newbie :)

Decorating By JustGettinStarted Updated 20 Aug 2010 , 4:44am by leafO

JustGettinStarted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustGettinStarted Posted 17 Aug 2010 , 5:33pm
post #1 of 11

Okay, I have a lot of questions, and I'm really sorry if the "general" page isn't the best place for them...I just didn't want to make a lot of posts in different areas. Any way, here are my questions:

1.  Foor fondant, at what point should I wrap rather than lay fondant on a cake? Does anyone know of any good tutorials for wrapping?

2.  If Iâm using buttercream, which is better? to use a crusting one and wait for it to crust, apply liquid, then fondant, or to apply directly on soft, freshly spread buttercream?

3.  If Iâm using cream cheese icing, what do I need to do to apply fondant? Do I apply directly over the cream cheese? Do I need a "crusting" cream cheese icing for that?

4.  Does a cream cheese icing have to be stored in the fridge?

5.  At what point do I need to use a flower nail(s) in my cake while baking? How many do I need to use?

6.  Bake even strips-Do I really need them or can I just use aluminum foil?

7.  Splenda cooking? Anyone done it and have suggestions? I have someone wanting an all splenda cake and I'm worried it will affect the cake. (ps. they aren't diabetic or anything...just want to cut sugar, but ate 3 RI lilies from the sample cake and all of the fondant and buttercream on the sample cake...go figure!)

8. I've seen on here that a lot of you bake at 325. Do you do that even if the recipe (say on a boxed mix) says to do so at 350?

Thank you all so much in advance! Although I love this new hobby, it is still a mystery to me icon_smile.gif

10 replies
pbeckwith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbeckwith Posted 17 Aug 2010 , 11:37pm
post #2 of 11