Mixer: Tilt Head Versus Bowl Lift?

Decorating By goblinqueen Updated 17 Aug 2010 , 4:57pm by cutthecake

goblinqueen Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 22

Hi everyone. Hope this is the right place to post such a question. I want to finally purchase the stand mixer I've been coveting for a year now, but I STILL can't make up my mind about which type to get. I'm not a professional by any means, but if I'm going to spend $300 on something, I want to make sure I get what will last me the longest... The lift model seems so much bigger though, and not having a base to the bowls seems strange and inconvenient. Does anyone have opinions to share?

21 replies
Gingoodies Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 6:38pm
post #2 of 22

My personal preference is the machine with the bowl lift. I do not like the tilt up mixer. I find it to be a bit messier to deal with the removal of the paddle/whisk. Also, my KA with the bowl lift fits under the cabinet and can stay in place on my counter. The tilt model had to be moved every time I wanted to use it.

Chef_Stef Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 6:41pm
post #3 of 22

I'm more about size, so I love my KA 6 qts with bowl lift. I've had 3, still have 2 at the shop.

I have two tilts too, and they're small and useful, but the sliding them out from the wall everytime to tilt up is a bit of a nuisance.

Otherwise, it's really about size for me, either one is nice but I'd get a lift if I had to choose.

Beckup Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 6:43pm
post #4 of 22

I have a lift bowl currently. I've had it since 1991 and love it! I am about to purchase additional mixer and I'm seriously considering the tilt bowl. It looks like it would have easier access.

cakesdivine Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 6:47pm
post #5 of 22