Kitchen Superstitions And Old Wives Tales?

Lounge By chubbyalaskagriz Updated 21 Aug 2010 , 7:27pm by Tiffany29

chubbyalaskagriz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chubbyalaskagriz Posted 15 Aug 2010 , 10:39pm
post #1 of 25

I was a chef for years at Alaskan resorts and wilderness lodges, and for a period cooked at a fisherman's bunkhouse in Dutch Harbor way out on the Aleutian Island chain. It was bad luck to have bananas on board boats, so when packing box-lunches for crabbers and salmon fishermen leaving to board the vessels, we left bananas out.

As a young kitchen apprentice a chef trained me to always add a touch of milk to the boiling water that we cooked corn on the cobb in. He said it would keep the corn bright yellow and prevent it from fading and getting pale.

I never chill onions today 'cause a supersticious chef once told me that doing so would cause a female in your life to miscarry.

When cooking bean soup I always wait to add salt and tomatoes to the simmering beans at the very last minute 'cause I came up in kitchens being told salting early kept the beans tough and prevented them from getting tender (was told acid from tomatoes also caused toughness). Not sure if this is even true or not simply because I've never dared try NOT salting them at the very end!

Growing up, Dad always told us never to eat olives after supper-time because they caused bad dreams.

Are there any practices or tasks you perform in the kitchen just because that's how you've always done it- or been told to do it? But you're not quite sure even today that it's not just whacko superstition or an old wive's tale?

24 replies
Marina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Marina Posted 15 Aug 2010 , 10:46pm
post #2 of 25

My Abuelita always said don't eat raw potatoes because you'll get worms in your stomach icon_eek.gif

PiccoloChellie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PiccoloChellie Posted 16 Aug 2010 , 5:30am
post #3 of 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubbyalaskagriz