Donating A Cake For A Silent Auction?

Decorating By emilykakes Updated 15 Aug 2010 , 2:59pm by cdgleason

emilykakes Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 4:17pm
post #1 of 8

A friend of mine recently found out her infant daughter has several heart defects and will need many surgeries throughout her life. Plans are being made for a silent auction to benefit her family. I would really like to help but the only thing I can think of is to somehow donate a cake. What do you think is the best way to do this? I am not a professional so I think I would be more comfortable making a cake and actually having it there at the auction. That way people can actually see what they are bidding for. But I wonder if it would be more profitable for the auction to just have pictures of my cakes available and offer a specific size cake, thus allowing the bidder to pick the design and when they want it? Also, I am allowed to legally donate a cake right?

7 replies
cakegroove Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 4:37pm
post #2 of 8

I donated a cake to a fundraising golf outing a few weeks ago for a raffle. I made a dessert cake so that it would be appropriate for anybody that received it.

Dayti Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 4:42pm
post #3 of 8

I think you are likely to get higher bids if you show bidders photos of your work, or maybe you can make a dummy cake, than if they were bidding on an actual cake on a table. I would prefer to bid on a cake decorated for me at a date of my choice. Hopefully whoever wins the cake will not want you to do something terribly difficult or above your skill level.
I agree you should state serving amounts (or a similar size to the dummy you have presented if you choose to) and a date by which the cake must be ordered/delivered, 6 months or whatever you are comfortable with.
I can't say if you can legally donate a cake, the US has some complicated laws but I'm sure someone else can help.

flamingobaker Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 5:01pm
post #4 of 8