Fence Ideas

Decorating By Crazy4Bay Updated 17 Aug 2010 , 6:49pm by MacsMom

Crazy4Bay Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crazy4Bay Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 12:28pm
post #1 of 11

I'm still pretty new to cake decorating as I've only been taking classes since June. My husband, who is into German sports cars, wants me to make him a porsche cake for his birthday next month.

Now, making a porsche is beyond my skill at the moment, but I figured I could do a road out of black fondant and put a porsche on it at least. I'd like to do not so much a racetrack, but a patch of country road, akin to a little sports car zipping through the French countryside like LeMans.

What I'm wondering is how I can make a fence along the side of the road. I've seen them made out of pretzel rods, but I'd like it to be a little bit less rustic. Could I cover them with some very thin fondant? I'd appreciate any ideas. I'm also hoping I can figure out how to sculpt a cow or horse before then. I look at these cakes in the galleries and think WOW, I can't wait to get my skills up - some of them place the bar pretty high. Kudos to all of you and your talents!! thumbs_up.gif

10 replies
grama_j Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grama_j Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 1:00pm
post #2 of 11

I usually make my fences out of candy melts and a fence mold..... cute, AND you can EAT it !

jojo76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jojo76 Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 5:32pm
post #3 of 11

ooooh a fence mould? Im loving that Idea, how do you then stick in on the cake, Grama-J?

eve81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
eve81 Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 8:31pm
post #4 of 11

if you're looking for an easy option or as a back up plan, you could maybe use curly wurly?

grama_j Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grama_j Posted 13 Aug 2010 , 11:22pm
post #5 of 11