Why Do People Think This Is Easy?

Lounge By TheBlonde Updated 16 Aug 2010 , 5:43am by luvmysmoother

TheBlonde Posted 12 Aug 2010 , 12:30am
post #1 of 24

One of my good friend's just sent me a pic text with all the decorating supplies she just bought to make her daughter's birthday cake. She lives 4.5 hours away and wanted me to do her cake but I couldn't make the trip. She probably just spent about $100 and she has never even attempted to do a cake before. All the power to her but there's no way she can pick up those tools and make a professional cake.

I had another person ask me to teach them how to do one of my cakes earier this week. I told them that they would need to purchase a bunch of equipement including my $300 airbrush machine to make a cake look like the one they wanted.

Why do people think they can just pick up some supplies and make a beautiful professional cake with no experience? Although I have to say that I'm completely self taught and I started 4 years ago by making my daughter's 2nd birthday cake...but still icon_smile.gif

23 replies
Tiffany29 Posted 12 Aug 2010 , 12:52am
post #2 of 24

I had a neighbor (thankfully she has since moved) who wanted a 3 -tier cake for her dd's b-day. At this point I had never done a tiered cake or worked with fondant. But I was going to practice first to see if it was something I could do.
Well I had company from out of town and another cake, when she calls to tell me she went ahead and bumped the dd's b-day up 2 wks. She was going to let her have the party in 2 days and if I couldn't make the cake it was ok icon_confused.gif .....really it was gonna have to be, there was no way I could have gotten it done!
Then she says well "I can try to make it myself, how hard can it be? I am thinking you can just buy the fondant right?" I said "sure you can"