Orange Cupcakes Question

Baking By MamaKarrie Updated 26 Aug 2010 , 12:20am by MamaKarrie

MamaKarrie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MamaKarrie Posted 10 Aug 2010 , 2:21am
post #1 of 19

I've been asked to make 100 cupcakes for a benefit raising money for a child with cancer. Her type of cancer is represented by the color orange so I'm going to get orange and white polka dot wrappers and do a 1M swirl. Any ideas what I should top it with? I'm a beginner so it needs to be something easy. I like the flowers in this picture but don't know how to make them or what they are made of. Suggestions please. Thanks!
LL

18 replies
MamaKarrie Posted 10 Aug 2010 , 2:26am
post #2 of 19

Totally should have posted this under cupcakes... sorry!

sandypins Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sandypins Posted 10 Aug 2010 , 2:29am
post #3 of 19

Looks like royal icing to me icon_smile.gif

frankdiabetes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
frankdiabetes Posted 10 Aug 2010 , 2:30am
post #4 of 19

You've got a good start already with the liners and the orange 1M swirl. You could use a gumpaste daisy cutter to make fondant or gumpaste daisies to put on top.

http://www.globalsugarart.com/cat.php?cid=656&s=195&name=Gumpaste%20Cutters/Flower%20Cutters

Add the icing dot in the center and you should pretty much have it.

MamaKarrie Posted 10 Aug 2010 , 2:55am
post #5 of 19

Thank you for the quick replies. I took a look at the Global Sugar Art site and will order the gerber daisy cutters along with a 2 lb tub of gumpaste. I've never used gumpaste before but the daisy's look pretty easy. I'll go look at some tutorials. Thanks again!

MomMiller Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MomMiller Posted 10 Aug 2010 , 3:07am
post #6 of 19

The daisies are the easiest (in my opinion) gumpaste flowers to make. You will do fantastic! I love the idea and can't wait to see your posted pictures. thumbs_up.gif

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 10 Aug 2010 , 3:13am
post #7 of 19