Hobby Baker

Lounge By mamawrobin Updated 9 Aug 2010 , 10:44pm by tesso

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 8 Aug 2010 , 3:17pm
post #1 of 14

I am now a full time hobby baker. My boss is closing her doors after 29 years and 10 months. I have been struggling with whether or not to keep my job because I've only been getting to work about 3 days a week for the past couple of months. Business has been very slow for about 3 months now. We do not have another custom shop in town but we do have Wal-Mart, the grocery store and a few illegal bakers.

I've ordered some new dummies and I'm ready to learn some new techniques. Who knows...with some practice I may even enter a contest.

13 replies
poohsmomma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
poohsmomma Posted 8 Aug 2010 , 3:33pm
post #2 of 14

I'm sorry your job is ending. It seems you're looking forward, and that's great. Your work is a testament to your skill, so keep plugging away. Maybe another opportunity will open up for you.

BTW, I tried your chocolate cake recipe this morning; it was cool(er) here so I thought it would be a good time to bake! Yummy! Thanks for sharing.

Elcee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elcee Posted 8 Aug 2010 , 3:41pm
post #3 of 14

mamawrobin. I'm sorry to hear that...for you and your boss. I hate that small businesses have such a hard time in our "chain" society icon_sad.gif. Is your state an easy to get legal one?

mamawrobin Posted 8 Aug 2010 , 5:43pm
post #4 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcee

mamawrobin. I'm sorry to hear that...for you and your boss. I hate that small businesses have such a hard time in our "chain" society icon_sad.gif. Is your state an easy to get legal one?