Shortening Can Be Troublesome & Controversial

Decorating By chubbyalaskagriz Updated 12 Aug 2010 , 9:55pm by Rose_N_Crantz

chubbyalaskagriz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chubbyalaskagriz Posted 8 Aug 2010 , 6:32am
post #1 of 146

I've been a member for over a year. I observe and puruse far more often than I actually participate... but very respectfully, I'd like to introduce a topic for discussion that could prove somewhat controversial- and I look forward to much wisdom from varied sources.

I'm a former executive chef who worked at country clubs, hotels, resorts, a cruiselines and for remote site Alaskan work camps for the oil industry- and pastry/cake decorating is just a side-bar to that which was always chief in my career.

We're all familiar w/ the bad rep that some styles of cake decorating and specifically frosting recipes have amongst the purchasing public. Many (most?) folks tend to harbor a real dislike toward shortening-based frostings. In fact, folks dislike the taste and idea of shortening so much that wedding cakes often rank right up there w/ fruitcakes as far as ridicule and resentment- and unpopularity.

How do ya'll deal with and cope with that?

For instance- the number one company out there as far as training and product also happens to be among the forerunners in promoting the standard use of shortening-based frostings. But in my experience those who buy cakes consider these recipes inferior, and they are not as well received by the paying public.

But this is just my own experience... what's YOURS?

Do you as a baker/cake decorator develop and adapt recipes for higher-end stylized frostings and fillings that don't have shortening anywhere near the list of added ingredients? Do you use real cream, real butter, cream cheese, mascarpone, cooked corn syrup options, etc. Or do the tried and true shortening-based recipes work well for you and your client-base?