Need Suggestions For Pricing Cake Decorating Lessons ~*~

Business By mcmahon Updated 10 Aug 2010 , 4:05pm by cakeprof

mcmahon Posted 5 Aug 2010 , 7:52pm
post #1 of 13

Hey All (o:
I couldn't find any posts on my question - I am open to any suggestions & advice (o:

I've been decorating for about 30 years now, with the last 10 being on and off professionally. I was approached this week about teaching cake decorating on a 'one-on-one' format. I know Wilton has many classes out in the big world, but this lady's suggestion was for the people who would really like to learn but for various reasons aren't able to go to group classes at a store. She asked me about coming to her home to give her lessons - she has a good variety of tools, so it's not about lugging all my supplies to her home.

I like the idea and wondered if anyone else has done this or considered it.

I am currently working part time (ha ha, if you could call it that) as a cake deco instructor for the local adult community ed. system at approx. $19.@hour. (currently 1 night a week - 2hr. class) I am unsure what would be reasonable to charge for private or small group lessons.
I thought maybe $20. would be reasonable for a 2hr. private session, since you could get a lot accomplished with teaching only one person they wouldn't necessarily need to take more than perhaps one to maybe four classes to get the hang of the skills.
As for small group classes, I know people can go to Michael, Jo-Ann's and places like that and pay something like $40. for (4) 2hr. sessions, plus get a discount on their kits. Since I am not a Wilton instructor, I can teach above & beyond what their instructors are "allowed" to teach and offer in a Wilton class. And $40. for (4) 2hr classes breaks down to only $5.00 per hour )o: (The Wilton instructors get paid by the store they work with, I am not sure what the pay scale is, but I know for sure it's at least minimum wage.)