Does Anyone Use This Method To Level Cakes?

Decorating By debbief Updated 29 Aug 2010 , 1:34pm by vickymacd

debbief Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:57pm
post #1 of 19

I cant remember where I saw this tip to level a cake but Ive been doing it and it seems to work. Immediately after taking the cake out of the oven, place a clean tea towel over the cake and gently press to level the cake (making sure not to let the steam burn you). I do this but I also put a slightly smaller cake board over the towel so I dont get finger imprints in the cake. I guess Im asking because I havent seen anyone mention this method here. Im still learning so Im wondering, is there a reason it shouldnt be done this way?

I use baking strips and most of the time my cakes come out pretty level anyway, this just gets them flatter on the top. I dont smoosh them so much that it flattens them.

18 replies
CWR41 Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 10:13pm
post #2 of 19

Yes, some call it the "push down method". There are several threads about this on CC. Here's one, if you care to read more:
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-681489-push.html+method

cattycornercakes Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 10:22pm
post #3 of 19

I smoosh my cakes. I used to level them but I hated wasting that cake so I started pressing them down as I took them out of the oven. If I want it flatter, I then use the leveler but I don't waste as much cake.

debbief Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 10:22pm
post #4 of 19

Thank you CWR41! I'm surprised I didn't see this thread. I've been wondering about this for awhile and thought surely it must have been discussed somewhere!

TrixieTreats Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 10:24pm
post #5 of 19

I do this for all my cakes, then wrap immediately in plastic wrap. It not only levels the cake, but also makes the cake more dense and moist. Also, the condensation that collects and re-enters the cake from the plastic wrap helps with any dry or crisper corners and edges you may bet with the WASC or other similar recipes.