Lego Theme Ideas?

Decorating By Pickulz Updated 6 Aug 2010 , 2:17am by Pickulz

Pickulz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pickulz Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:19pm
post #1 of 12

My son wants a lego themed cake for his 6th birthday....and ive seen some terrific cakes on here...and im still going thru all the lego cakes posted!!!
But I really wanted to do something different/challenging...not that Lego wont be a challenge for me-im a newbie!

Ive seen some cakes that are 4-5 Lego blocks in different colors...with pegs..which looks sinple and nice....anything i can do to that to jazz it up..
I was thinking maybe having them lay on one another on an incline or something? Or stack them up somehow...that makes it look a bit different...this is my time to experiment..so really want something fun to do

And maybe have the green board underneath with pegs on it too?

Any other ideas??

11 replies
Pickulz Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:25pm
post #2 of 12
hollyml Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollyml Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:40pm
post #3 of 12

I did a Lego cake for my son's birthday, just oversize bricks (no minifigs or whatever), largely because he did not want ANY fondant! I used a real Duplo baseplate on the cake board. The bricks themselves were modeled on an assemblage of actual Lego bricks that I had my son put together. (The model is in the first pic.)

The studs are circles of cake that I cut out of a thin layer using a small biscuit cutter. I froze the circles after frosting them so that I could handle them to place them on the "brick" without munging up the frosting, and then used a piping bag to fill in the gaps around the base. If I did this cake again today, I'd be able to get the frosting smoother -- I did not know about the Viva method at the time. icon_smile.gif But my son was thrilled with it.

KJ62798 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KJ62798 Posted 5 Aug 2010 , 2:36am
post #4 of 12

I did a lego cake for my son's 7th bday.