Bumps Can Be Seen Through Mm Fondant...how Do I Fix This?

Decorating By MamaTara Updated 4 Aug 2010 , 2:05am by kimbordeaux

MamaTara Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MamaTara Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 8:04pm
post #1 of 7

I am new to cake decorating and use MMF to cover my cakes. I would like to achieve a very smooth, clean look to my fondant, but the surface tends to be a little bumpy (it's not terrible, I just want to make it perfect). The surface of the cake is creating the bumps, the fondant itself is smooth. What am I not doing correctly?

*I use a fondant smoother
*I use a crumb coat
*My fondant is rolled to about 1/4" thick
*It looks better, but not perfect, after refrigerated

Thanks for your help!

6 replies
MamaTara Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 8:16pm
post #2 of 7

Sorry, I meant to say that I roll the fondant to about 1/8" thick.

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 9:16pm
post #3 of 7

Two things can help fondant look smoother..a very smooth BC coating (I hear ganache is wonderful for this) and slightly thicker fondant. Mine is about the thickness of a nickle. I put the bc on and let my cake settle and come to room temp for about 3 hours...then I smooth the BC again and let it crust up then smooth it. This allows a very smooth surface for the fondant to sit upon. Then I do the normal fondant application. Seems to work for me. Not all the time, of course, nothing works all the time<G>

Cat

MamaTara Posted 4 Aug 2010 , 1:45am
post #4 of 7

Thanks for your help!

Do you apply your BC to a refrigerated/cold cake?

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 4 Aug 2010 , 1:47am
post #5 of 7

I fill and crumbcoat a frozen cake then let it thaw under the crumbcoat and settle for at least 3 hours. THEN I can do the final coat of BC or fondant. If I rush this process I tend to get bubbles in the BC or fondant..so I try to be patient instead<G>

MamaTara Posted 4 Aug 2010 , 1:52am
post #6 of 7