Frosting Tips

Baking By lakergirl Updated 5 Aug 2010 , 4:51am by sweethands

lakergirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lakergirl Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 7

Still a Newbie in this field but, I am FASCINATED by the artisitic work that is on this site! Which brings me to the question- has CC ever done or is there any videos out there for complete "Beginners" on cupcake decorating. I have watched a few on Utube & I am picking up a few techniques. I am looking for that "bakery" quality look on my cupcakes. Do most of you use the large plain tips for the cloud look on your cupcakes? (can't remember what the tip # is!?!?!) & a star tip? Any help would be greatly appreciated...LOVE THIS CC!!!
Thanks, Kim icon_smile.gif

6 replies
texastj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
texastj Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 2:17pm
post #2 of 7

I'm a newbie myself. Not quite sure what you mean by the cloud look. I personally like the Wilton 2D myself. I find myself using that more than the 1M. The 2D gives me that ice cream swirl look.

lakergirl Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 3:33pm
post #3 of 7

Yes- that was the term I was looking for-lol
I would really like to see some professional decorators do some videos for us- hopefully this plea will inspire someone to teach us!
Thanks for post...Kim

texastj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
texastj Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 5:01pm
post #4 of 7

If you go to Youtube there are several tuturorials. Attached is a photo of two of my cupcakes. One is the swirl and the other is a rose. With practice you will be able to master it in no time. Of course, I am no professional but I enjoy practicing and making them look good.
LL

tcwheeler Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tcwheeler Posted 3 Aug 2010 , 5:27pm
post #5 of 7

You may be meaning the big dollops. You need a big circle tip to squeeze out big, smooth "puffs" of icing. icon_smile.gif

lakergirl Posted 4 Aug 2010 , 12:19am
post #6 of 7

icon_biggrin.gif Thanks for the photos & response back!!!