Professional Courtesy?

Business By Ladiesofthehouse Updated 2 Aug 2010 , 6:54pm by Loucinda

Ladiesofthehouse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladiesofthehouse Posted 2 Aug 2010 , 6:35am
post #1 of 22

I was contacted by a lady that said she is getting married in the fall and was going to use me, but decided to fly her pastry chef friend in instead to make the cake. O.K., fine.

Her question to me was if I would allow her friend to make the cake in my kitchen since she is a pro. and wants to bake the cake in an approved kitchen.

When I was a pro. sign painter we used to be able to go into most sign shops if we ran out of supplies or had a problem and they would help us out, just as we would do for them. We called it professional courtesy.

I don't know, this seems different than that to me. I mean, it's MY kitchen for crying out loud, and I am not doing the cake! She is flying here, so I am assuming she will need to borrow pans, decorating stuff, etc.

I want to tell her no, I don't loan my equipment and truthfully, I am in my kitchen most of the time making my own cakes.

Am I being unreasonable saying no?

My husband thinks I just have my nose out of joint because it is going to be a cool cake and I should tell her yes and charge her an hourly rate for the kitchen/equipment use.

What do you guys think?

21 replies
Bfisher2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bfisher2 Posted 2 Aug 2010 , 6:46am
post #2 of 22

HELL NO!!!!!!!! icon_lol.gif Thats pretty nervey to ask... let her friend use the brides kitchen at home n bring her own tools....

PiccoloChellie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PiccoloChellie Posted 2 Aug 2010 , 6:48am
post #3 of 22

My first thought was ... is that okay with the Health Dept?
I honestly have no idea what the HD rules are in Alaska. So the first thing I'd do is see if you have an "out" by checking with your inspector. "I'm sorry, I spoke with the HD and they won't allow me to do that." kinda thing.