What Am I Doing Wrong?

Decorating By sweet56pooh Updated 2 Aug 2010 , 4:13am by sweet56pooh

sweet56pooh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet56pooh Posted 1 Aug 2010 , 8:33am
post #1 of 12

I'm new to cakes so I'm not sure if this is normal or not. I made my first tiered cake (the sesame street cake) and was scared that it would come apart. So I "glued" (tylose and water) the top tier onto the bottom tier along with using the dowels. When my friend dismantled the cake to cut it the top tier removed the fondant and the layer of bc from the bottom tier leaving an 8" circle of "naked" cake. I thought it was due to the "glue". My most recent cake, the Tinkerbell, the same thing happened! I made a fondant plaque using cake board and placed it on top of my fondant covered cake. When my friend went to remove the plaque it took along the fondant and ganache! The top of the cake was now pretty much "naked"! Is there a way to prevent this? Is this normal? I was so embarrassed both times. icon_redface.gif TIA!

11 replies
egensinnig Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
egensinnig Posted 1 Aug 2010 , 8:51am
post #2 of 12

Well if you glue something together it will stick for sure icon_smile.gif
If you don't want it to stick - place a circle of wax paper underneith the top cake.
I usually put som RI between tiers if I travel with the cake stacked. Otherwise I use the wax paper.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 1 Aug 2010 , 8:55am
post #3 of 12

If you let the fondant on the tiers dry a little while before you stack them, they're easier to get apart. Use a center dowel if you're worried about tiers slipping...don't glue them together.

sweet56pooh Posted 1 Aug 2010 , 9:08am
post #4 of 12

With the plaque I didn't glue it down and the fondant on the cake was dry. It had about four hours before I placed the plaque on the cake and it still lifted everything off underneath... Would the wax paper make it slippery?