New To Fondant - Help Smoothing!

Decorating By kjv532 Updated 1 Aug 2010 , 1:30am by tatita73

kjv532 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kjv532 Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 8:05pm
post #1 of 8

I tried covering my second cake with a MMF that I had made, but I could not get the fondant smooth. I iced with a store bought icing, since i'm new at this and just practicing, let it sit for 20 minutes or so. I was careful to smooth the buttercream very well before I covered in fondant. Rolled my MMF out to about 1/4 inc thick and put it over the top. I just couldn't get it to look smooth. Anyone know what may have cause my problem?

Here is a picture of the top of the cake that I couldn't get smooth - the sides were ok, but the top was so uneven looking. The little nick in the top of the cake near the edge is from my fingernail - gotta keep those short to play with fondant icon_smile.gif

Thanks!
LL

7 replies
egensinnig Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
egensinnig Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 8:10pm
post #2 of 8

What do you use to smooth? Smoothers or your hands? I find MMF a bit harder to smooth well since it's stiffer.
A smooth surface is as you write essential and also that the buttecream or frosting is not to hard. I also smooth my ondant on teh table - roll it out and run my plastic smoother oer the surface to make it an even thickness

kjv532 Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 8:26pm
post #3 of 8

I just used my hand to smooth the fondant as I don't have an official "smoother". Do they work much better than using hands?

Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 8:30pm
post #4 of 8

Fondant takes practise, and this is actually not bad for only a 2nd attempt, Invest in a fondant smoother, It really makes a difference! Also, Make sure your Cake is a level as possible before you cover it with ganache or buttercream, And also get that as smooth and level as you can. the smoother that is, the easier time you will have with your fondant.