Purse Cake For One Year Old

Decorating By Christina1207 Updated 1 Aug 2010 , 1:48pm by bakencake

Christina1207 Posted 30 Jul 2010 , 11:19pm
post #1 of 8

I have a friend that has asked me to make a little purse cake for her little girl who will turn one in a month. What I am doing is making a sheet cake for the other guests but a small cake just for the little girl to tear into. So any insight would help. I was thinking maybe using a WASC recipe for the carved cake. I have a couple of ideas as how i am going to make it just not sure as I am fairly new to this. Also how would I go about making a little tiara? See what she wants is a little purse with a tiara on the cake board and a little pink poodle sticking out of the cake. I was going to carve the cake and then add the poodle later made out of modeling chocolate or fondant/gumpaste mix. What do you all think? Thanks in advanced.

7 replies
Elcee Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 12:57pm
post #2 of 8

Christina, I can't answer your question as I've never made a purse cake but we're practically neighbors! I'm in Security and I work in Fountain.

You're the 3rd Coloradoan I've "met" on here this week icon_cool.gif.

hbarberycakes Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 1:11pm
post #3 of 8

There are a couple different ways to make both the cake and the tiara. I've done it two ways. I made a 6" round and cut an edge off and stood it on the flat surface. Another is bake the 1/4 sheet cake and cut into four sections and carve to the shape. There are some really good tiara templates on here if you go under sketches and templates. You can do gumpaste + fondant combo or do a royal icing one. In fact I have a tiara I'm doing for a lady this weekend!! Good luck and have fun with it!!! icon_smile.gif

Christina1207 Posted 31 Jul 2010 , 4:46pm
post #4 of 8

Elcee that is so freaking cool well you are the first person from Colorado that I have meet on here icon_smile.gif