Edible Support Structures

Decorating By crazyofficefan Updated 30 Jul 2010 , 1:41am by crazyofficefan

crazyofficefan Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 11:10pm
post #1 of 8

Hey I'm about to make a cake for my first cake contest. In the rules it says that I can use dowel and toothpicks for support but it cautions not to use much else. My cake will require a sort of platform to hold up a large amount of pound cake, but I'm afraid if I use non-edible material for the platform, the judges may take it out of my score. Does anyone know of any strong edible materials I can use as a platform? I'm a beginner with more elaborate 3D cakes so any info would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

7 replies
Caths_Cakes Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 11:22pm
post #2 of 8

I dont know if this would work . . .It just popped into my head and ive never tried it . . Can you get 'candy rocks' where you live?

well, at least here in the uk, They are a hard candy , In a long round shape, they come in all different thickness's and lengths, and are reaaaaly hard, and there made from sugar so it would be edible !

Doug Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 11:38pm
post #4 of 8

what are the rules on cakeboards?

---

and a diagram of what you intend would really help in terms of giving best advice.

---

Caths_Cakes: Brilliant, positively brilliant.

carrywilsonhome Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 11:47pm
post #5 of 8

As someone is judging the very contest I imagine that you speak of, take it very seriously. Not much more that dowels or toothpicks. Some people have already blown it.

crazyofficefan Posted 30 Jul 2010 , 1:25am
post #6 of 8

To Doug

This is exactly what is written for the specific rule in question: