Wedding Cake Decorators: Would You Let Me Add To Your Cake?

Decorating By Crabbabs Updated 29 Jul 2010 , 9:38pm by Crabbabs

Crabbabs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Crabbabs Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 8:06pm
post #1 of 14

With so many of my friends getting married soon, it has made me begin to think about my own wedding (which will probably happen in a year or two).

I'm a hobby baker and would love to make my own wedding cake, but after reading a lot of advice, I have no desire to put that type of stress on myself. However, I would like the make an edible topper out of fondant/gum paste.

I know a lot of bakers are strict (and rightfully so) when it comes to "additions" to a cake to be able to control the product they deliver. (A common example is only the baker arranging fresh flowers on the cake instead of the florist).

My question is: Would you allow an edible topper to be put on top of your cake?

This is all hypothetical - I'm not even engaged yet (lol). I'm just curious. icon_biggrin.gif

13 replies
JanJess Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanJess Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 8:20pm
post #2 of 14

I wouldn't see where this would be any different than a purchased topper. I would certainly allow it. HTH.

samarinbooboo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
samarinbooboo Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 8:26pm
post #3 of 14

I agree with JanJess. It should be treated like any other topper. Let the cake person get the photos they want of the cake and assign someone to put your topper on before you get to the reception. icon_cool.gif

kse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kse Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 8:44pm
post #4 of 14

I would let you!

CocoaBlondie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CocoaBlondie Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 8:45pm
post #5 of 14