Piping On Fondant

Decorating By AmyBee Updated 29 Jul 2010 , 8:00pm by sweettreat101

AmyBee Posted 28 Jul 2010 , 11:15pm
post #1 of 7

I'm making a cake for my cousin's first birthay. It's the perfect time to practice my piping as I am VERY new at it. I made frosting that must be refrigerated as it has 1/3 cup of milk in it. Can I pipe on fondant and then refrigerate it? Will it bleed tomorrow when I remove it from the refrigerator? I was also thinking about maybe piping with candy melts ... ??
Thanks for your tips in advance!
Amy

6 replies
PiccoloChellie Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 12:33am
post #2 of 7

What recipe did you use for the icing? Just because there's milk in it doesn't necessarily mean it has to be refrigerated; most American buttercreams have enough sugar to preserve the dairy and render them stable at room temp.

AmyBee Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 12:41am
post #3 of 7

6 tablespoons butter
2-2/3 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup Cocoa
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Thanks !

and FYI my house is pretty hot & humid right now ... no AC ... so i suppose i risk bleeding if kept on my counter aswell... ugh !

PiccoloChellie Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 2:46am
post #4 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmyBee

6 tablespoons butter
2-2/3 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup Cocoa
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Thanks !

and FYI my house is pretty hot & humid right now ... no AC ... so i suppose i risk bleeding if kept on my counter aswell... ugh !

Yeah, that doesn't need refrigerated. For future reference, you might like to replace part of the butter with shortening when it's hot...or, better yet, switch to Indydebi's buttercream, which is VERY stable in high heat & humidity:
http://cakecentral.com/recipes/6992/indydebis-crisco-based-buttercream-icing

How much time do you have before the party? Can you take a little scrap of fondant and pipe some of your icing on it and see how it fares?

AmyBee Posted 29 Jul 2010 , 2:59am
post #5 of 7

Thank you very much !