Help Decorating A Cake On A Job Interview For A Bakery!

Decorating By NellaVerde Updated 28 Jul 2010 , 7:48pm by NellaVerde

NellaVerde Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 1:48am
post #1 of 8

Hello, I would appreciate all suggestions on decorating a simple example cake for a bakery interview. The position open is for a cake decorator and the bakery manager will be monitering me as I work. I just recently took the Wilton 1 and 2 decorating classes this spring, since that time I have decorated cakes and cupcakes for church, family and friends. I also have 2 photos on CC (as I am a newbie). icon_smile.gif Thank you again in advance.

7 replies
JKEvents Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 6:43pm
post #2 of 8

i'm a newbie too, but i say keep it simple. do something that you are comfortable with-don't try to impress them by going way overboard. If you keep it simple it will be easier for it to have a clean finish and have a great presentation!

BlueBirdBakery Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 7:00pm
post #3 of 8

Let us know how you do! Good Luck!

KoryAK Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 7:10pm
post #4 of 8

EXACTLY. Clean finish is a must - more important than way out there design. Show off whatever skills you have but especially the basics. Good torting, smooth icing, a little scrollwork, inscription, basic shells and pearls and roses. If they can see that you have that down, they know you at least moldable.

Unlimited Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 9:28pm
post #5 of 8

Good luck... let us know how it goes. Sounds like you're going in confident and probably don't need too many pointers, but if you're looking for more opinions you might try posting in another forum (or ask a moderator to move this to a better place). I never visit this forum, but noticed it when it came up on the home page... I believe it's geared towards people who are looking for specific creative ideas rather than help for an interview.