Decorating By kjxoxo1 Updated 27 Jul 2010 , 9:15pm by Maluisa

kjxoxo1 Posted 26 Jul 2010 , 2:00am
post #1 of 10

I am very new to baking and have a question. I noticed on Global Art there is a sale on Satin Ice Rolled Fondant icing as well as Satin Ice Rolled Buttercream Fondant icing. What is the difference? Also, is Satin Ice a good product? Does it taste okay? Thanks in advance for any information. I have not used fondant yet and want to begin.

9 replies
BlakesCakes Posted 26 Jul 2010 , 2:42am
post #2 of 10

I use Satin Ice quite a bit. I like it.

Regular Satin Ice is vanilla flavored. Buttercream Satin Ice is buttercream flavored. No other difference.

Normita Posted 26 Jul 2010 , 3:04am
post #3 of 10

I buy their premade red and black fondant...not gonna stress to get those colors myself. I have used the regular vanilla fondant but had sooooio many issues with that batch (stretching, tearing). I have heard from other cc"s that there was a problem with some bad batches. I called SI and they are gonna send me a new 20 pound bucket.

I actually prefer fondx for white vanilla fondant...IMO icon_smile.gif

bmarlow001 Posted 26 Jul 2010 , 3:21am
post #4 of 10

I am also a religous Fondx user although I did use the satin ice for awhile and have bought the buttercream fondant and it was very yummy icon_smile.gif

kjxoxo1 Posted 26 Jul 2010 , 11:21am
post #5 of 10

This was extremely helpful!!! Thank you all sooo much!! I'm going to purchase some to try it out since it is on sale.

Sweet_Guys Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 1:10am
post #6 of 10

We prefer Fondarific...They're flavors seem more evident to taste than other brands. If you work in a high-humidity type climate, you'll also love Fondarific.

Darlene Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 4:09pm
post #7 of 10

I also love Fondarific!

Maluisa Posted 27 Jul 2010 , 4:17pm
post #8 of 10