Degree Needed Or Not??

Business By Piecukonis Updated 28 Jul 2010 , 4:18am by kitty122000

Piecukonis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Piecukonis Posted 25 Jul 2010 , 10:57pm
post #1 of 9

I have been happily baking and decorating cakes for about a year now but am completely self taught. I have a ton more to learn before I can make a career out of it. My ultimate dream is to own a dessert bar...selling cheesecakes, special event cakes, cupcakes, cookies, pastries, etc. I have a great idea for exactly what I want and have put tons of thought into it and even have a name ready to go that no one in the US has. The thing is....I have never worked professionally in a kitchen or restaurant. I want to do a 12 week internship (no pay) for 4 hours a week at a local cupcake bakery. The owner has been on Cupcake Wars on the Food Network. I am going to call her up and volunteer my time...I'll do anything...sweep, mop, dishes...anything to learn the business and have her teach me how to run a bakery and how to decorate. I'm calling her tomorrow. Also....A local dairy that has a small grocery store in it selling it's goods offered me an opportunity to sell my cupcakes and cakes directly out of their store on one condition..I have to use their eggs, milk, and butter. That's awesome because I can make a little money and get experience and get my name out there. Say....in 3 years....if I want to open my own shop and I go into banks for business loans for startup costs...will they want a degree to back up what I am doing in the culinary arts or baking arts...or can I do it without going broke with student loans???

8 replies
Piecukonis Posted 25 Jul 2010 , 11:00pm
post #2 of 9