Need To Vent A Little......

Decorating By lilyankee5688 Updated 25 Jul 2010 , 10:52pm by lilyankee5688

lilyankee5688 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lilyankee5688 Posted 25 Jul 2010 , 2:48pm
post #1 of 5

just to start off.. i'm not a pro, but I do cakes for friends and family. I am a stay at home mom, and my fiance just found out (thursday morning) his boss sold the company and he is now unemployed. icon_cry.gif Well this weekend I am doing a baby butt cake (this is my 3rd one) and a Dora themed cake, just like the one in my pics but the number 2. Both are due today the 25th. The Dora is due at 12:30 and the baby butt is due around 4. Well I baked the Dora cake and the 2 9in rounds for the baby butt on Friday. Well while the rounds wee in the oven we had a BAD storm. The power kept flickering and finally went out a few times, only for a few minutes. Well my oven is very old, and it was set at 350, after the power came back on it was 450!! So needless to say, the cakes were ruined, burnt on the outside raw on the inside!!!

So Saturday my sister came to take my 2 year old to the Zoo so I could have time to my self. I went to the store to get all the materials to make the rounds again! I didnt know I ran out of Baker's Joy, so I used Crisco/cocoa powder, usually what I do in this situation, no problem. But since the power outage the oven has been heating too hot, it much have gotten a surge or something. Well the outer edges were not burnt, but almost there, and the insides were perfect!! I cut the edges down a little, and went ahead and iced it. The cakes didn't rise either, so once they were stacked there was NOTHING there.. In the mean time I have the Dora cake iced and finished except the fondant things that were drying.