Rolling Fondant Thin

Decorating By ylescu Updated 27 Jul 2010 , 1:03am by kimbordeaux

ylescu Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 8:07am
post #1 of 13

How can some bakers roll their fondant really thin? I use a regular scratch recipe for rolled fondant and whenever I try to roll it thin it either a) sticks like crazy to my table (even with the aid of cornstarch/ powdered sugar), or b) when I drape it over my cake, it'll end up tearing on me on the top edges of say, a round cake, like its too soft or something, it doesn't stay put and just tends to pull on it. Here's the recipe I use:

2 lbs powdered sugar
1 tbsp gelatin
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup glucose
1 tbsp glycerin
2 tbsp shortening

The only way I can cover my cake without much trouble is to roll it thick (about 1/2 an inch)

Any suggestions? Is it because their using pre-made fondant like SatinIce?

12 replies
kimbordeaux Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 6:42pm
post #2 of 13

I've never tried that recipe before. I've made MMF before. I used marshmallows, powdered sugar, water, vanilla. That one was fine, you have to find the right consistency that works best for you by changing the amounts of sugar and water. Now, I purchase Satin Ice. Never had any problems until the last bucket I bought but, I contacted Satin Ice and after I gave them the batch # they told me they had a recipe error with that batch and sent me a new one.

cathyscakes Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 6:54pm
post #3 of 13

I use Jennifer Dontz's recipe for fondant. She adds white chocolate candy clay to pettinice fondant, and you can roll that fondant really thin. Doesn't tear very easy, doesn't crack, or dry out, it has a long work time, I loved it.

kimbordeaux Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 7:07pm
post #4 of 13

I've been hearing raves for Jennifer Dontz's fondant recipe. Where do I find the recipe? I don't have too many problems with SI except that it has a short work time, will dry, crack and get elephant skin if you are not fast.

cathyscakes Posted 24 Jul 2010 , 7:54pm
post #5 of 13