Rolling Fondant Question

Decorating By CorCorCakes Updated 24 Jul 2010 , 4:11pm by CorCorCakes

CorCorCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CorCorCakes Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 6:11pm
post #1 of 15

Sooo, I am new to cake decorating and am slowly gathering tools and learning as i go. I have heard of people using pvc pipe as a rolling pin, what are your opinions on that? It is definitely cheaper. Also, some directions for rolling out fondant say to use powder sugar to prevent sticking to table, while others say cornstarch or shortening. Is one better than the other or are they all ok? Thanks so much!

14 replies
xinue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xinue Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 6:31pm
post #2 of 15

Hello!
I use the pvc pipe. The only downside of it is that it's not heavy and you have to use some muscle to roll big thick pieces.
Just make sure you clean it really really well.
I use corn starch or p sugar, wathever I have at hand, and they work just fine. The only trick I can give you is to turn yor fondant after a few rolls to make sure it is not sticking to your working surface.

artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 23 Jul 2010 , 6:31pm
post #3 of 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CorCorCakes

... Also, some directions for rolling out fondant say to use powder sugar to prevent sticking to table, while others say cornstarch or shortening. Is one better than the other or are they all ok? Thanks so much!

You'll get a different opinion on this question from everybody you ask. That's because there are so many variables that change from baker to baker. It depends on which fondant you use, how dry you make/use it, what your counter's made of, how thin you like it and any different combination of all these and more variables.

They all work under the right combination of circumstances. Yet some folks will love one method and others will say they have nothing but disasters with that same method.