Ganache Over Buttercream?

Decorating By stlcakelady Updated 6 Mar 2015 , 8:10am by Chloezee

dawncr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dawncr Posted 25 Jul 2010 , 4:27pm
post #31 of 36

Cenell,

See the link that Karen posted, earlier in this thread. Answers all those questions.

mamawrobin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mamawrobin Posted 25 Jul 2010 , 5:56pm
post #32 of 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cenell

I've always used just ganache/fondant or buttercream/fondant until I got the request to use buttercream/ganache (spreadable NOT poured) and fondant.
Actually the buttercream/ganache/fondant was good....I only do it as a special request but it did taste good thumbs_up.gif[/quote]

The ganache spreadable, is the recipe above mentioned? Sorry to bother you icon_redface.gif . I'm still learning LOL[/quote]

Yes...the one that I posted is the 'spreadable' ganache thumbs_up.gif

Cenell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cenell Posted 26 Jul 2010 , 2:55pm
post #33 of 36

[/quote]

Yes...the one that I posted is the 'spreadable' ganache thumbs_up.gif[/quote]

Thank you very much!!!!! icon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gificon_biggrin.gif

CrumblesConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CrumblesConfections Posted 26 Jul 2010 , 3:55pm
post #34 of 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutthecake

We're talking about two different things here--poured ganache and spreadable ganache.
I don't see how you could (or why you would want to) use poured ganache under fondant.
Spreadable ganache is great under fondant because it dries firm and allows for crisp corners and sharp edges.
Take a look at Rylan's award-winning cake (he uses ganache under fondant) in this thread:
http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopicp-6896586.html#6896586

Yeah! I was getting confused here. I was wondering how could poured ganache work under fondant. I've been wanting to try the spreadable ganache method so thanks for clearing this up. Whew! Could've made a huge mistake!