Rec Size Of Mixer

Decorating By Lcubed82 Updated 22 Jul 2010 , 5:33am by karabeal

Lcubed82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lcubed82 Posted 22 Jul 2010 , 3:08am
post #1 of 5

I have an old Sunbeam Mixmaster that never get used, maybe a 4.5 qt. DH gave me a KA 5qt for Christmas several years ago. There are times that I wish I had one a little bigger, for double batches of cookies, SugarShacks icing, etc. It seems stepping up to a 6qt wouldn't really give me much for the $$. Would moving up to a 7qt make more sense?

4 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 22 Jul 2010 , 3:15am
post #2 of 5

You might look into restaurant supply places and step up to a 10 or 12 qt Hobart.

ramie7224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ramie7224 Posted 22 Jul 2010 , 3:17am
post #3 of 5

If I had my way I'd put a big ol' Hobart smack in the middle of my kitchen and bake my days away. I think DH may have a few things to say about that though icon_biggrin.gif Really I guess it just depends on how often you make cakes. Are you a hobby baker or do you sell them? I would say if you frequently have a need for large/double batches, spring for the 7qt. You'll only kick yourself if you get the 6 and then slosh stuff all over the counter.

Lcubed82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lcubed82 Posted 22 Jul 2010 , 4:05am
post #4 of 5

I am a hobby baker. I have been doing cookies and cakes along for friends and church, and of course DH's office! My biggest frustration is mixing the buttercream. I have two bowls for my KA, so that helps with the big batches of cookies.

karabeal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karabeal Posted 22 Jul 2010 , 5:33am
post #5 of 5