Help Please! Fondant Dots On Buttercream...

Decorating By KristinH2219 Updated 25 Jun 2015 , 1:42pm by anavillatoro1

KristinH2219 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KristinH2219 Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 5:50pm
post #1 of 18

I am a hobby baker, and am making a buttercream cake for my niece. She wants fondant polka dots on it...Im not sure how to make the dots stick. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank You icon_biggrin.gif

17 replies
hvanaalst Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hvanaalst Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 6:01pm
post #2 of 18

I would just use a little buttercream to stick them on.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 6:02pm
post #3 of 18

If you work fast BEFORE the bc crusts, you can just slap 'em on there!

yummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 6:05pm
post #4 of 18

A little water on the back, just enough to see that it;s moistened; too much will soften the fondant and make the coloe bleed on to your icing.

lisamenz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lisamenz Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 6:09pm
post #5 of 18

All is good advice from fellow posters, add a dap of water or a little buttercream or as one said you need nothing if the buttercream is fresh, just put them on. Happy Cake Decorating icon_wink.gif

Cindy619 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cindy619 Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 6:10pm
post #6 of 18

I've used a little water or even a little vanilla extract to attach.

KristinH2219 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KristinH2219 Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 6:20pm
post #7 of 18

Thank you all so much! I thought buttercream or water may be the answer, but wanted some professional advice. You ladies are the best!!!!

Babasuesue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Babasuesue Posted 27 May 2011 , 5:39pm
post #8 of 18

Please tell me how to keep my fondant dots from sliding down the sides of my buttercream iced cake.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 27 May 2011 , 5:44pm