Constructive Criticism/ Thoughts And Opinions

Decorating By Paige_Pittman86 Updated 1 Aug 2010 , 3:48am by Paige_Pittman86

Paige_Pittman86 Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 5:39pm
post #1 of 83

I am still very new in the cake making hobby, and yes i say hobby because i am not a home baker just yet. I would love to be able to sell my cakes one day but as of right now i know i am not ready. I would really love and appreciate if you guys could take a look at what few cakes i have done and give me any CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM as far as what would have been better, what should i have done different, and tips that could help me out next time or anything like that. Please don't be cruel I'm not asking to hear i suck even if that is the case. I have 2 cakes coming up that some friends have asked me to do. One being a Monster truck cake which i thought about making the trucks out of RKT any ideas?? and the 2nd being a guitar cake. THANKS SO MUCH icon_smile.gif

82 replies
leah_s Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 5:53pm
post #2 of 83

OK, I'll be gentle.

First, you need to practice smoothing the buttercream. The sides need to be smooth to the point that no knife marks show at all. And the top edge needs to be more defined. You can do this with a turntable and hot bench scraper held perpendicular to the cake board. Turn the turntable as you hold the bench scraper. There should be a build up of icing higher than the top edge.

Second, using a laser level, project a level line at the top edge of the cake. Using an offset spatula, pull the icing from the edge toward the center of the cake, using the laser line as your starting point.

Wipe off/dip in hot water the spatula after each "swipe."