Need Advice From The Sps Experts! My Cake Is Not 4"...

Decorating By BuncoHappens Updated 21 Jul 2010 , 2:36pm by KHalstead

BuncoHappens Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 8:23pm
post #1 of 14

This is my first time using SPS!

Un-iced the tier is 3"...I still to to ice it and add fondant. My options are to either add lots of extra icing on top OR cut the legs. Which would you do?
With that much icing on top, it could be a problem when I apply the fondant.

13 replies
TexasSugar Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 8:28pm
post #2 of 14

Can you torte it a couple of times and fill it for extra height?

BuncoHappens Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 8:31pm
post #3 of 14

I already have it filled and crumb coated and chilled. It would have to a 1" layer and it would look unbalanced when cut because each layer is 1 1/2".

DeeDelightful Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 8:47pm
post #4 of 14

I'd rather add more icing than risk cutting the legs, unless you have a miter (sp) saw and are sure they will be cut precisely. Otherwise i'd probably opt for using dowels or bubble tea straws this time around. Maybe next time, torte and fill for more height.

sillywabbitz Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 8:56pm
post #5 of 14

Which layer is this? Could you get away with doing a double border to cover up the gap? Maybe a wide ribbon with a thinner ribon on top in coordinating color. I had this happen the first time I used SPS but my cake was buttercream so I literaly squished buttercream into the seam and then did a boarder over thaticon_smile.gif I'm not sure how to hide it with fondant.

BuncoHappens Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 10:00pm
post #6 of 14

This is the bottom tier. It is a 3 tier cake, but I'm thinking of only using the SPS to support the middle tier and stack the top at the event. My husband has all kinds of saws, so I'm confident the legs would get cut evenly. I'm just so dissapointed that my bottom tier is too short!

kitty122000 Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 3:00am
post #7 of 14