What Is The Best Way To Make A Wine Bottle Cake?

Decorating By Lauralouise Updated 11 Feb 2011 , 5:06am by cakesrock

Lauralouise Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lauralouise Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 7:48pm
post #1 of 10

I am very new to this and want to make a win bottle cake, I have tried moulding fndant icing over a wine bottle, but am worried this may not work. I have also heard that cakes are easier to carve after freezing? Is this true?

Also, Any tips to make the Wine Crate would be much much appreciated!!! icon_smile.gif thankyou!! icon_smile.gif

9 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 8:03pm
post #2 of 10

I would make the wine bottle out of a candy/chocolate mold.They have molds that are a life size replica of a wine bottle.

sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 8:16pm
post #3 of 10

Hi LauraLouise,
I just did my first one of these so hopefully I can be of some help. Here is the one I did .
http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1737944

I used SugarEds blog http://sugaredblog.blogspot.com/2009/02/making-gumpaste-wine-bottle.html for the wine bottle. I only made 1 side because I was doing the crate cake. Try and make an even cut all the way around, mine was not the same height on both sides which was kind of a pain. Be sure not to tuck any fondant into the bottle opening or you will have trouble getting it off the bottle.

I left it for several hours and then just went back and made sure I could lift it off the bottle, and then I left it for 2 days. After 2 days I took it off the bottle and flipped it over so the inside would dry.