Best Edible Printer???

Decorating By cakediva38 Updated 1 Dec 2017 , 2:05pm by icingimages

cakediva38 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakediva38 Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 97

I am looking into buying a edible printer, any suggestions or tips on buying one??

96 replies
Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 6:14pm
post #2 of 97

I have a Canon IP 3600 and I really like it.It is quite a popular model and affordable.

icingimages Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icingimages Posted 22 Jul 2010 , 12:22am
post #3 of 97

I have been selling edible printers for 11 years now. I have high expectations as I have to stand behind what I sell and honestly, I dont want to come to work everyday fixing problems, I beleive in selling reliable products. So, here is my 2 cents...more like $2!!! First, you want to be able to print once per week. This eleviates 99% of possible problems. You can print on regular paper using edible ink, so I recommend printing out a coupon once per week if you are not printing images and give the coupon to your next customer. This way you are promoting your product and eventually you will not need to do that! Printers: Canon vs. Epson, I use both. I prefer Canon, and only use the Epson for wide format printing. Canon's wide formats are finicky and not worth the hastle. So, after we came out with our Canon Gold label Ink Cartridges, we found that they were so superior over previous inks that we tried an Epson version. I did try many different Epson models and came back to the Epson Workforce 1100 only for wide format printing. If you do not need to print the large 11x16" than go with the Canon IP3600 or Canon MP560. Both are superior to the Epsons. The Canon has the removable printhead which is critical for long term printing. The printhead can be removed, cleaned and replaced if needed. With epsons, if you get a clog and you cannot get it out, you are out the printer. Inks: Our latest version