Ideas/suggestions For This Cake? (Picture Included)

Decorating By pag41989 Updated 21 Jul 2010 , 9:54am by allaboutcakeuk

pag41989 Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 3:12pm
post #1 of 2

I am entering a contest at the fair this year. I want to do a 3 tiered cake with flowers cascading down the side of the cake and I want to do something like this:

http://www.bridalguide.com/media/images/oldsite/july-aug-07/JulAug_Cake8.jpg

I want to make the flowers a little bit more fall colored (reds and oranges). I want to include some yellow roses with the red/burgundy tips since they are my favorite rose. Does anyone have any suggestions for coloring the roses etc. ? Since this is my first tiered cake I am feeling a little intimidated. I was also thinking about doing cake dummies (since it won't be tasted) where can I purchase these and can I use just plain round styrofoam from Michael's? I have never used dummies before so I am not quite sure what to do.

Also, would you recommend that I use petal dust or is it okay to use chalk (since its not being eaten)?

1 reply
allaboutcakeuk Posted 21 Jul 2010 , 9:54am
post #2 of 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by pag41989

I am entering a contest at the fair this year. I want to do a 3 tiered cake with flowers cascading down the side of the cake and I want to do something like this:

http://www.bridalguide.com/media/images/oldsite/july-aug-07/JulAug_Cake8.jpg

I want to make the flowers a little bit more fall colored (reds and oranges). I want to include some yellow roses with the red/burgundy tips since they are my favorite rose. Does anyone have any suggestions for coloring the roses etc. ? Since this is my first tiered cake I am feeling a little intimidated. I was also thinking about doing cake dummies (since it won't be tasted) where can I purchase these and can I use just plain round styrofoam from Michael's? I have never used dummies before so I am not quite sure what to do.