Depressed! :( Feelin' Like I Ruined A Wedding. Pls Help!

Decorating By cksweets Updated 15 Sep 2010 , 10:15pm by tmac670

cksweets Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 6:32am
post #1 of 21

please help w/advice. this is not a vent, i need some help getting over this. has you ever felt like this? ...anyone?

let me tell you a lil about my horrible experience. i was asked by mom to make her son's wedding cake. i grew up w/him and took on the task gladly. i have been making cakes for about 3 years, i'm not professional by any means, but the design was easy. anyways, what could have gone wrong did. i am so upset. this happened on sat and i just can't seem to shake this feeling like the cake that i did is gonna be a regret on their very special day. icon_sad.gif i am also really embarrassed bc it was horrible looking and of course the photographer took pix of the side and back. ugh!!

i thought about emailing her and letting her know what all happened, the bottom tier collapsed i had to bake a whole new one. then all the tiers were crooked and started sagging. just when i was getting confident in my work this crap happens. it's all my fault. i know why everything happened the way it did...but why was i so stupid to not catch it until it was too late and i had no time to fix any of the issues.

*sigh*

20 replies
TheBlonde Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 11:09am
post #2 of 21

I'm sorry this happened. Cakes are tough, especially in the summer. I had a really tough weekend as well with my bottom tier of a cake collapsing. Just keep your chin up and use this as a learning experience...

LisaPeps Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 11:19am
post #3 of 21

You're cakes are stunning, if I could do half of what you can I'd be a very happy lady ^_^

Put this one behind you and learn from the mistakes, move on and continue to make beautiful cakes ^_^

smokeysmokerton Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 11:24am
post #4 of 21