Dome Topped Cakes!!! Just Want A Flat Cake!

Baking By ornurselaura Updated 24 Jul 2010 , 10:00am by ornurselaura

ornurselaura Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 2:11am
post #1 of 8

Hi! Does anyone have a suggestion for making a flat-topped cake. Used to be that I wanted my cakes to be rounded but since I started playing around with decorating, I have found that I don't like cutting 1/3 of my cake off to make it flat. Can I add anything to the batter to stop this?????????

7 replies
VeronicaLuis Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 2:24am
post #2 of 8

In my experience with my baking I have found that with drier cake batters you get a dome and the wetter ones you will get a flat cake. I baked a carrot cake which was quite a dense batter and I ended up with a huge dome. Then I have a chocolate and vanilla cake recipe which are quite wet and runny and they end up flat and I don't need to level them out. The chocolate and vanilla cakes I have to take away some of the milk that I normally add to get good cupcakes otherwise the cake comes away from the cupcake liners which I'm sure you would agree is not attractive.

hollys_hobby Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 2:25am
post #3 of 8

There is a product on the market called Bake-even strips, but you can also make your own. Basically it is a strip of fabric that you wet, and wrap around the outside of the pan, this keeps the outside cooler so that the cake bakes more even. Also for the bigger cakes, I use a heating core. It is a cylinder the you fill half way with batter, and it sits in the middle of the pan. My cakes come out perfectly even. Also, I bake all of my cakes at 325degrees.
One great thing to do with the tops you cut off is to freeze, and then when you have enough, make cake truffles. HTH

kitty122000 Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 2:28am
post #4 of 8

A flower nail inserted into the middle of the cake will help with the dome. Also, I've heard bake even strips work wonders, although I haven't used them myself

indydebi Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 2:58am
post #5 of 8