Help!need Help/ideas For A Graduation Cake For Next Saturday

Decorating By tiffd1129 Updated 20 Jul 2010 , 11:59am by eXtremecakes

tiffd1129 Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 2:00am
post #1 of 4

My cousin graduated from high school this year and his grad party is next weekend. I have been asked to make the cake. My aunt requested white cake with peanut butter frosting and the logo to the college that he is going to attend somewhere on the cake. I attached the logo. First off, I have no idea how I am going to re-create this logo. I am somewhat new to fondant and was wanting to use that over the peanut butter frosting. Then aside from the cake, I was wanting to make something chocolate for those that are not white cake/pb fans..First idea was brownies. I bought cellophane bags and ribbon and a circle cutter to make even cuts. My concern with this is that the frosting from the brownies will stick to the bags and create a mess. Any ideas?

Cake and brownies combine is for approx. 100 people. I plan to use the WASC recipe for the white cake. Still up in the air on brownie/brownie frosting recipes.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
LL

3 replies
yummy Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 3:50am
post #2 of 4

You can place fondant cut out of the round cutter you used for the brownies. Either pre cut the fondant circles and place on top of the brownies as soon as they come out of the oven and press down on the sides and top to seal, let cool. You can also apply the fondant with piping gel on the backs of the fondant.

The easiest way to do the logo is an edible image; you can also do a fbct or color flow.

You can trace the logo onto fondant or gumpaste and make a plaque.

DeezTreatz Posted 20 Jul 2010 , 4:12am
post #3 of 4