2" Or 3" Cake Pan

Decorating By cr8tivemommy15 Updated 20 Jul 2010 , 4:11pm by cownsj

cr8tivemommy15 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cr8tivemommy15 Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 6:25pm
post #1 of 8

I am a novice cake decorator, and I really shouldn't even call myself a cake decorator. I make cakes for fun for my family. I usually get my share of compliments and such and have lately been asked if I'd make others a cake for some occasion.

So.... I'm going to invest in a nice 1/2 sheet pan. Either Magic Line or Decorators Preferred. But... do I want a 2" or a 3" height?

Is there any merit to this thinking? Getting a 3" cake pan so that I can use a cake leveler on it? (Which I've also never used). Or is a 2" cake pan OK? What will I end up with when I level it for a cake height if I used a 2".

I'm so confused! What do you members with more experience recommend for a novice baker. I want to invest in a really good pan.

Thank you for your help!

7 replies
catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 7:00pm
post #2 of 8

I use a 2" magic line and just fill up the pan enough so that when it bakes I just trim off the dome that is over the lip of the pan for a nice even 2 inch layer. I bake two, fill and stack for about a 4 inch layer once the cake settles.

Rusti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rusti Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 7:10pm
post #3 of 8

HI,
I'd go with the 3" pan. I use a lot of them and while it does take longer to bake I find I do get a more level cake using the leveler. Just my 2 cents. Good luck! icon_smile.gif

cownsj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cownsj Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 7:19pm
post #4 of 8

I definitely prefer the 3". It gives you both options with that pan. You can bake it as a 3" or you can just use less batter and make it as a 2". With the 3" height, by the time I level the two layers, I have a 4" tier.

Though I do like catlharper method, I've never been successful with that. But that's just me.