Pearl Dust Help!

Decorating By cheercoach9701 Updated 19 Jul 2010 , 6:09am by Apti

cheercoach9701 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cheercoach9701 Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 4:51am
post #1 of 5

Ok I have used pearl dust 3 times now trying to achieve that metallic look to my fondant decorations. Its not working! It has a very very very light shimmer but basically just enhanced color. I have dry dusted it on as well as using clear vanilla extract. I am new at this so Im not sure if I am doing something wrong or if anyone has any tips. Any help would be so appreciated! Thanks in advance!

4 replies
mbark Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mbark Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 5:25am
post #2 of 5

one thing I realized is that whatever it is I am painting needs to start out in that basic color to really enhance the look- i.e. coloring fondant yellow-gold when you're going to paint it gold, and gray for anything silver. I'll be curious to see others tips too!

bchumley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bchumley Posted 19 Jul 2010 , 5:37am
post #3 of 5

A lot of it is going to depend on what color you're using. Pearl White is naturally going to be much more subtle than, say, Gold or Bronze. The brand may also make a difference...I prefer CK's Luster Dust over Wilton or Sunflower brands, but that's probably just my little quirk.

Also, I've never tried clear vanilla for painting...I always use pure lemon extract or vodka. You might also increase the dust-to-alcohol ratio...add the lemon/vodka a few drops at a time to a teaspoon or so of powder and keep testing until you get the coverage you're looking for. (Don't worry about using too much powder--the stuff keeps forever and you can easily reconstitute it with more alcohol and use it up later.)

If you have an airbrush, metallic coloring is pretty foolproof, but that's not always practical/cost effective, and it's not always the most delicate approach.