Im New To Cake Bakeing, I Have Alot Of ?'s

Decorating By bluerose26 Updated 19 Jul 2010 , 1:23am by bluerose26

bluerose26 Posted 18 Jul 2010 , 7:25pm
post #1 of 12

Is this the kind of fondant you use to make cakes smooth looking ? on link
http://www.michaels.com/art/online/displayProductPage?productNum=bk0404

Do you use a flat fondant smoother or a one that rolls? like one on links

(Flatone) http://www.michaels.com/art/online/displayProductPage?productNum=bk0401

(rolling one) http://www.acmoore.com/p-82283-fondant-roller-1pkg-.aspx

where can i but a bigger roller to roll out fondant for the top/main part of the cake? one bigger then a 6x4 (the one on the link is a 6x4)

I am wanting to make the princess cake like the one in the photo on my photos called princess cake for my daughters 2nd birthday on sept 26th

Also where can i buy the letter shape thing to make the letters like on the cake.

Any other tips are appreciated, thanks

11 replies
KonfectionKonnection Posted 18 Jul 2010 , 7:47pm
post #2 of 12

OK--let me see if I can answer your questions. Yes, you can use either the Duff brand of fondant or Wilton is also available and easy to get.

The flat smoother will help you smooth the fondant on the cake. The little roller is more for rolling out small sections for cut-out pieces, for instance.

Wilton makes a longer roller, 22 inches I believe, which is white and works really well--but I sometimes use my mom's old wooden one (like I use when making cookies)--and it does fine, if you already have one like that that you use.

The letters are cut out of fondant then attached with either vanilla extract or lemon extract (so it will dry quickly and not make the fondant soggy). I have a small set of alphabet cutters that are Wilton that I got at Michael's. I think they would be the right size for this.

Hope that helps! If you have any other questions, I would be glad to help! Good luck w/ your cake!

mamawrobin Posted 18 Jul 2010 , 7:47pm
post #3 of 12