Newbie Here And I Gotta Admit...i'm Skeert!

Business By GeorgieP Updated 23 Jul 2010 , 6:32pm by CookieMeister

GeorgieP Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 10:29pm
post #1 of 15

OK, so I've been "lurking" for a few days and reading all the interesting topics especially here in the cake decorating business forum. I've recently become VERY interested in cake decorating and baking in general and would like to think that in the future I may open my own business. BUT...after reading some of these posts I'm thinking it's a little scary out there.

There are misbehaved brides (I can't watch Bridezillas because, well, I have a strong desire to SHAKE some of them), there are people threatening to go over to the decorator's home to "collect" what they feel is a refund that is due them and there are people claiming that they don't want to pay for cakes -some as low as $65!!!- because there are numerous uh, "infractions", i.e. hair supposedly in the cake, sliding tiers (after riding in the backseats of the purchaser's cars), just to name a few.

So I have to ask-Is the cake decorating business a good business to get into for the most part? Are the customers described in these posts few and far between or are they more of the norm? I'm looking to make a career change. I am tired of desk jobs and want to try something completely new. Exactly how stressful is the cake business?

I thank you for all your input and information on these forums. In answering this post you don't have to "sugar coat" your answer. OK...maybe just a little! icon_smile.gif Thanks again!

Georgie

14 replies
All4Show Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 10:39pm
post #2 of 15

You will see I'm a newbie too. They have me absolutely depressed!!

Apti Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 10:59pm
post #3 of 15

GeorgieP and All4Show,