Who Gets Married On Fridays Anyway?

Decorating By Bskinne Updated 19 Jul 2010 , 10:28pm by GenGen

Bskinne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bskinne Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 1:53am
post #1 of 20

So today has been an utter disaster. Been working on a grooms cake since yesterday, with exception of color flow lettering to go on all 4 sides of the base.

Get a call today from the groom's mother, whom I have been talking to for 3 months at 6:30 while i'm buying the organic strawberries to dip for TOMORROW'S GROOMS CAKE....she leaves a message and says "Just trying to touch base with you, get an update on the cake, but I guess I'll see it in 10 minutes....I live 30 minutes from the location.

The cake layers were made and filled and shaped but I hadn't made the buttercream to cover either tier or regular and chocolate fondant for the cake....I don't know how I mixed up the days, but for months I have had Saturday the 17th down on everything!

I was so upset, but she was very gracious and told me she would find another cake, she didn't know where, etc., I'm sure she was upset but she didn't act like it....I told her to give me 20 minutes to figure out what I could do!

I raced home and worked like a madman to pull out something. I got a cake there, but wasn't what I planned. Luckily the lettering was color flow and that was done, so I got both tiers iced and covered and the lettering up and I put strawberries, not dipped around.

What a day. I made it, but I am so sad about hoew everyting turned out...I just dropped the cake and sent her a message saying that I got it there and I would talk to her later about rectifying the situation and enjoy the wedding. I do know the cake tastes fabulous, so hopefully that will help....

19 replies
iamcakin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iamcakin Posted 17 Jul 2010 , 2:01am
post #2 of 20

Well, nice recovery...you got it there in time, you know it tasted fabulous, and left a very professional-sounding message. thumbs_up.gif