Need Help With The Process....

Decorating By new2itall Updated 19 Jul 2010 , 9:06pm by new2itall

new2itall Posted 16 Jul 2010 , 8:40pm
post #1 of 5

Hi everyone! I am very new to decorating cakes, and will be doing my very first fondant covered cake for my father-in-laws wedding at the end of the month (no pressure right?!?) I have been doing lots of research, but I still have a few questions just around the process of preparing/storing the cake before the fondant is put on and after. I want to thank everyone who responds ahead of time! I really appreciate your help icon_smile.gif

I will be baking the actual cakes and freezing them sometime this week so they are taken care of ahead of time. The wedding is on a Saturday, and I was hoping that I could ice the cake, and cover it with fondant on either the Thursday or Friday (the night before). I just wanted to know how far ahead can you ice the cakes with the buttercream? And should I ice them with the buttercream and then chill the cakes before even trying to put the fondant on them? Also, once the cakes are iced and covered, can they be chilled again? I've heard mixed reviews about putting a fondant covered cake in the fridge but here's my concern. The wedding is over 2 hours away and this is going to be at the end of July so I just have some concerns around meltage!

Any tips of how to prepare a cake for fondant (whether or not to chill it after being filled and crumb coated, etc) and then proper storage of the cake after it does have the fondant on it would be much appreciated!!

4 replies
Alery Posted 16 Jul 2010 , 9:03pm
post #2 of 5

I would definately fill & crumbcoat the cakes the night before you are going to cover with fondant, so they settle and you don't get bulges. I always refrigerate my cakes before & after fondant, with no problems. Last time I transfered one a couple hours away I put it in a large box (didn't fit in my cooler) with some icepacks, then cranked the AC in the car. Good luck!