Not Invited - Kind Of Offended

Lounge By kger Updated 15 Jul 2010 , 2:06pm by kger

kger Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 1:36am
post #1 of 13

I am a hobby baker and am still jumping at every chance I get to experiment with cakes.

That being said, my sister's birthday is this weekend and I just heard that her boyfriend (whom I have never met) is throwing her a surprise party on Saturday.

Were I not into caking so much, I would probably be glad to not be obligated to attend, but I am missing out on the opportunity to make an awesome cake! ARRGGHHH!

I've been trying to convince myself that pulling a cake together in 2 days would be a PITA, so it's probably better that I haven't been contacted, but... I'm her sister, darnit!!

12 replies
SugarFrosted Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 2:06am
post #2 of 13

He's prolly just being a guy and has not even thought of all the people he should invite. Your sister will likely ask him, "Why didn't you invite my sister?" Or she'll call later and ask why you were not there. I have found that most guys don't have a clue...in my experience.

kger Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 2:35am
post #3 of 13

And I still don't get to make a cake! And I know just the one I would do.

tesso Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 2:51am
post #4 of 13

I say... CRASH THE PARTY!!!.. show up with the cake and say.. "why I had no idea you were having a party..and here I thought I would surprise you with a cake!! icon_twisted.gif

my family does that to me all the time. I find out about parties or relatives visiting from out of state about two weeks after the event.. thier excuse is.. YOu are always working or baking.. icon_confused.gif and the point is??? they could atleast ask. so I say again.. CRASH THE PARTY icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

cakesbycathy Posted 15 Jul 2010 , 3:00am
post #5 of 13

Putting the whole cake thing aside...
Assuming you and your sister have a good relationship and the boyfriend knows you exist..